Town Council

  • The Town Council consists of the Mayor and eight members elected from the town at large every two years.
  • The Mayor, elected separately, is a member and presiding official of the Council with the power to vote.
  • Recognized as the official head of the Town for ceremonial and military purposes, the Mayor has the authority to appoint the Town Attorney and Clerk of the Council.  
  • All members serve 2-year terms.

Democrats on the Town Council:

Carol Anest
Chris Miner
Sharon Braverman

Regular meetings:

  • 7 p.m., 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month
  • Town Hall
    Council Chambers
    131 Cedar Street
    Newington, CT 06111

Board of Education

The following highlights the roles and responsibilities of a Board of Education:

  • Each town maintains control of its public schools through its Board of Education (CGS §10-240).
  • Boards of Education are responsible for implementing the educational interests of the state (CGS §10-220).
  • Boards of Education provide educational activities which, in its judgment, best serve the interests of the school district (CGS §10-220).
  • A Board of Education serves as a board of directors for the school district.
  • A board of Education acts through its Superintendent of Schools, who is the “Chief Executive Officer” of the school district (CGS §10-157(a)).
  • A Board of Education is a “collective” body; authority resides with the Board and not with the individual members.

Democrats on the Board of Education:

Michael Branda
Emily Guion
Cindy Stamm
Jessica Weaver

Regular meetings:

Meeting Schedule, Agenda, and Minutes can be found here:

All Board of Education Meetings are held at the Town Hall in the Helen W. Nelson Meeting Room beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Registrars of Voters

4-Year Term
Marie Fox
Cindy George

I got into my first fight, Democrat versus Republican, in second grade. I won.

Stacey Abrams